Courtesy of the artist © Sorgen (International)

17/03/2020 Review No.1.:

Sorgen (International) "Vol.8: The Water"

Installation, Video, Performance, 2019 

Rethink: MUST HAVE.

The artist collective criticize brand strategies, the financial system and the establishment of a wasteful consumerism. By means of an own and specially created brand „Sorgen (International)“, and launching the new product „(tap)Water“ as a beauty elixier, which is available for 79€/ bottle marketingstrategies are lead ad absurdum. Through exaggeration the recipient starts to rethink within his role as a potential customer the meaning and authenticity of such strategies. Is this about the consumption of a product or is it a lot more about (over)consumption as a means to pay off anxieties (worries)?

20/03/2020 Review No. 2: 

Sonja Alhäuser

"Das Willkommen", 2020 Margarine, Cooler, lit.

Seduction and delimitation.

The artist uses food to create sculptures installations and performances. Thereby she deals, already during the formation process, with temporality: Each material has a certain lifespan and it’s moment of ideal formability. The material reminds the viewer of the transience of things.

 Courtesy of the artist © Sonja Alhäuser

At the same time the viewer becomes aware of the value of the moment, especially during her performances, which are banquets made of edibles only. Seduced by abundance and tempted to an excessive consumption, a natural defense gesture is just a matter of time: the question of meaning, an ethics of eating or simply nausea.

 © Maik Schierloh

27/03/2020 Review No. 3: 

Frank Nitsche

"Study from the Human Body (Rare)", 2020

various materials

Behind the mask.

The striking aesthetics of the artist‘s works arise from the material he uses for his installative collages (advertising posters).

According to the title, these works are in a minority to the abstract oil paintings otherwise typical for the artist. But all the work is about what’s not visible. So the artist also abstracts in the collages: the advertising motif is literally turned upside down, the most effective advertising element is hidden. What’s left forms something entirely new. Colour and texture gain dominance and the shapes start to play. Masks that shine with sequins and at the same time repel with their fleshy red colour.

An ambivalence that can also act as a symbol in times like these: The beauty of the shiny surface like the isolation as an act of solidarity. And opposite that what happens behind the (protection)mask: The personal confrontation with the situation, a time full of thoughts, desires and fears.

 Courtesy of the artist © Kirstin Burckhardt

04/04/2020 Review No. 4: 

Kirstin Burckhardt

„a body that only embodies“, 2020

Videoinstallation, 6:30 min.

„A body that is completely closed cannot thrive“

 

In times of physical distance and isolation, desires make us aware of basic needs: absorbing, releasing, exchanging closeness and warmth, being together and touch.

In the close-up video of her mouth and tongue, the artist shows us the meaning of this body orifice. It is not only a vital body channel but also a sensory organ for touch, taste and communication. In addition to smacking and mumbling sound, the video also includes speech by voice and text.

In her medially very complex work everything revolves around the core topic of the definition of a body: Do I have a body? Am I a body? Do I own a body? With the focus on the moment of touch the artist brings a new way of looking at ordinary gestures. It illuminates in-between spaces, such as the encounter of the self with the outside, or with fellow human beings, show ambivalence and fragility of mechanism of opening and demarcation and associate themes such as empathy, gender and trauma.

 © Daniela von Damaros

18/04/2020 Review No. 5: 

Albert Weis

faltung (5013/9004), 2017

folded and powdercoated Aluminium perforated sheets,

210 x 120 x 130 cm.

 

Space as Sculpture.

The clear formal language of the artist‘s work is both appealing and soothing. In permeating the material, the artist creates an access to spaces of meaning beyond the aesthetics of the surface. According to the exhibit, Weis breaks the viewers accustomed gaze on the material by folding its surface. In interaction with the light, new patterns appear (moiré effect). Experiencing the work like a sculpture by moving through the space, opens up another core aspect of the artist’s work: it’s formed in relation to the space, as reference to modern architecture or the immediate surrounding space. The viewer finds himself between space and the object, within the installation, so to speak „in the middle (instead of just there)“. This moving view allows to experience sculpture from a different perspective, therefore boundaries to expand and at best - following Giacometti‘s definition of sculpture as a quantity defining space - space to be understood as sculpture itself.

 courtesy of the artist © Jens Heller

04/05/2020 Review No. 6: 

Jens Heller

"Archon, Eschatologische Naherwartung" 2019 / "Schönheit - Glanz der Wahrheit" 2020, "Archon, ein Spiel anbietend" 2010

Oil on canvas

Golden truth.

Symbols are almost an integral part of the artist’s allegorical picture compositions. In the series of the Archons, they allow us together with the central figure, who evades our gaze through a golden hooded coat, to scrutinize perceptions of reality: on the surface, in the golden glow of the cloak, an inside and outside opens up. The possibility to look „behind the façade“ of the shine is denied. But the Archon succeeds in opening up to an inner world under the protection of the mantle. The pictorial space reflects this: in a hyperrealistic manner, with pictorial elements enlarged as if through a magnifying glass, and embedding amorph forms, a dream world is revealed. Does the artist thereby refer to the existence of parallel realities, or their dependence and influence of an inner, individual perception? Does he thereby bring us a little closer to a real picture of reality?

 courtesy of the artist © Jonny Star

22/05/2020 Review No. 7: 

 

Jonny Star

"Hey Baby, ich bin ein Vollzeit-Maler!" 1-3, 2019

Pigmentdruck auf Stoff, Stoff, Swarovski-Perlen, jeweils 100x140x5cm

Truth or dare.

One knows this moment of an encounter with a stranger, a talk accompanied by caution and an ambivalent feeling towards the spoken words. Where do these words come from? The self, benevolence, a role play or even disfavor? Does this person pretend to be someone or is his or her Habitus authentic?

„Hey baby, I am a full-time painter!” is the title of a three-part work by artist and curator Jonny Star, which points to such a moment: En détail, to the Habitus of an artist in the public art scene. ◌

 

By collaging a variety of materials, the artist superimposes the fabric and its inherent motif of flowers with photographic fragments of a nude self portrait, literally interweaving them with embroidered Swarovski beads. Their brilliance and cheerful colors are flattering, while the immediate look into the camera provokes the eye of the beholder.

 courtesy of the artist © BIEST!

09/06/2020 Review No.8.:

BIEST "Quadrat",

microfiber, zippers, snaps, chiffon, velcro
Collection 2018 + 2020, Installation & Performance

All in the nothing.

Where the story of an icon of modern art once began, the new BIEST collection is now presented: moved and on stage. And in the exhibition How beautiful you are! It resembles a circus of the public and celebrates its last collection as a room installation at least as enjoyably.

BIEST - that is the Berlin designer duo Mirko & Silvio. Their concept stands for clear forms, for "less is more". With their collection "Quadrat" they set a zero point in the fashion world, a new beginning, innovation!

Just like the icon, "The Black Square (on a White Background)" by Kasimir Malevich, which bundles and simultaneously dissolves everything that has already been painted in black, all the possibilities unfold from here and, through cracks in the surface (Craquelé́), the background, the white of the background. The black square of fabric, carried by the body and on the skin, reveals that "behind" here and there, in patterns and through contour. The minimization of the form creates freedom and space for thinking, for associations, self-reflection and creativity! In this way, each square worn becomes an individual "dwelling", a place of well-being and a unique piece, which in its entirety leads to infinite variations of the same collection.

More:

BIEST Homepage

Watch the movie

On Instagram

© 2019 von DADA ART Erstellt mit Wix.com

Courtesy of the artist © Sorgen (International)

17/03/2020 Review No.1.:

Sorgen (International) 

"Vol.8: Das Wasser", 2019

Installation, Video, Performance

Rethink: MUST HAVE.

Das KünstlerInnenkollektiv übt Kritik am Marken- und Finanzsystem und der Etablierung eines verschwenderischen Konsumverhaltens. Mittels der eigens kreierten Marke Sorgen (International) und mit dem Launch des Produkts "(Leitungs)Wasser" als Schönheitselexier erhältlich für 79€/ Flasche führen das Kollektiv Marketingstrategien ad absurdum. Durch diese Überspitzung beginnt der Rezipient in seiner Rolle als potentieller Kunde über Sinn und Authentizität solcher Strategien nachzudenken. Rethink: Geht es überhaupt um den Konsum des Produkts oder darum mit (Über)Konsum Ängste (Sorgen) zu tilgen?

S(I) Homepage

On Instagram

20/03/2020 Review No. 2:

 

Sonja Alhäuser:

"Das Willkommen", 2020 (Neurestauration), Margarine, Kühlvitrine, Beleuchtung

Verführung und Abgrenzung

Die Künstlerin nutzt Lebensmittel für die Kreation ihrer Skulpturen, Installationen und Performances. Dabei setzt sie sich bereits während des Entstehungsprozesses der Arbeiten mit Zeitlichkeit auseinander: Jedes Material hat eine bestimmte Lebensdauer und einen Moment seiner idealen Formbarkeit.

 Courtesy of the artist © Sonja Alhäuser

Der Betrachter wird durch das Material an die Vergänglichkeit der Dinge erinnert, gleichzeitig wird er sich und vor allem während der Performances (Bankette ausschließlich aus Essbarem) über den Wert des Moments bewusst. Vom Überfluss verführt und zu einem übermäßigen Konsum verleitet, ist es nur eine Frage der Zeit bis eine natürliche Geste der Abwehr einsetzt: Die Frage nach dem Sinn, einer Ethik des Essens oder schlichtweg Übelkeit.

 © Maik Schierloh

27/03/2020 Review No. 3: 

Frank Nitsche:

"Study from the Human Body (Rare)", 2020

verschiedene Materialien

Behind the mask.

Die plakative Ästhetik dieser Arbeit spricht aus dem Material, das der Künstler benutzt (Werbeplakate). Entsprechend dem Titel, stehen diese installativen Collagen in einer Minderzahl gegenüber den für den Künstler sonst typischen abstrakten Ölgemälden. Jedoch geht es in allen Arbeiten um das Nicht-Sichtbare. Und so abstrahiert der Künstler auch in seinen Collagen: das Werbemotiv wird buchstäblich auf den Kopf gestellt und das werbewirksamste Element des Plakates verdeckt. Das was „übrig“ bleibt formt etwas ganz Neues. Farben und Texturen gewinnen an Dominanz und Konturen beginnen zu spielen: Masken glänzen mit Pailletten und stoßen gleichzeitig mit ihrer fleischig roten Farbe ab. Eine Ambivalenz die in Zeiten wie diesen auch als Sinnbild fungieren kann. Eine Schönheit im Glanz der Oberfläche - wie die Isolation als solidarischen Akt - steht dem gegenüber was hinter der (Schutz)Maske passiert: eine persönliche Auseinandersetzung mit den Umständen, als eine Zeit voller Gedanken, Sehnsüchte und Ängsten.

 Courtesy of the artist © Kirstin Burckhardt

04/04/2020 Review No. 4: 

Kirstin Burckhardt

„a body that only embodies“, 2020

Videoinstallation, 6:30 min.

„A body that is completely closed cannot thrive“

 

In Zeiten von körperlicher Distanz und Isolation, machen Sehnsüchte bewusst, was Grundbedürfnisse des Menschen sind: Austausch, von Nähe und von Wärme, Zusammensein und Berührung.

Im Close-up Videoformat ihres Mundes und der Zunge führt uns die Künstlerin die Bedeutung dieser Körperöffnung vor Augen. Sie ist nicht nur ein lebensnotwendiger Körperkanal sondern auch ein sensorisches Organ für Berührung, Geschmack und Kommunikation.

In ihren medial sehr vielschichtigen Arbeiten (Körperskulpturen, Sprech-/ Tanz-Performances, Video, Installationen) dreht sich alles um das Kernthema der Definition von Körper: Habe ich einen Körper? Bin ich ein Körper? Besitze ich einen Körper? Mit dem Fokus auf den Moment der Berührung bringt sie in ihren Arbeiten eine neuartige Betrachtung von Gewohntem zum Ausdruck. Sie beleuchtet Zwischenräume, in der Begegnung des Selbst mit dem Außen, oder den Mitmenschen, macht die Ambivalenz und Fragilität von Mechanismen der Öffnung und Abgrenzung sichtbar und assoziiert Themen wie Empathie, Gender und Trauma.

 © Daniela von Damaros

18/04/2020 Review No. 5: 

Albert Weis

"faltung (5013/9004)", 2017
folded and powdercoated Aluminium perforated sheets,

210 x 120 x 130 cm.

Space as Sculpture.

Die klare Formensprache der Arbeiten des Künstlers wirken anziehend und beruhigend zugleich. Im Durchdringen der Oberflächen des Materials (Aluminiumlochbleche, Spiegel) schafft der Künstler einen Zugang zu Bedeutungsräumen jenseits einer Ästhetik der Oberfläche. Der Künstler bricht den gewohnten Blick auf das Material durch dessen Faltung. Im Zusammenspiel mit Licht entstehen so neue Muster auf der Oberfläche (Moiré-Effekt). Das Entdecken der Arbeit als Skulptur durch Bewegung im Raum eröffnet einen weiteren Kernaspekt: Die Werke formen sich stets im Bezug zur Architektur, in Referenz zur Moderne oder zum unmittelbar umgebenden Raum. Der Betrachter findet sich zwischen Raum und Objekt, in der Installation, wieder. Eine Perspektive, die Grenzen erweitern und - in Anlehnung an Giacomettis Definition von Skulptur - Raum als Skulptur begreifen lässt.

 courtesy of the artist © Jens Heller

04/05/2020 Review No. 6: 

Jens Heller

"Archon, Eschatologische Naherwartung" 2019 / "Schönheit - Glanz der Wahrheit" 2020, "Archon, ein Spiel anbietend" 2010

Öl auf Leinwand

Golden truth.

Symbole sind in den allegorischen Bildkompositionen von Jens Heller nahezu ein fester Bestandteil. In der Serie der Archonten lassen sie zusammen mit der zentralen Figur, die sich unserem Blick durch einen goldenen Kapuzenmantel entzieht, Wahrnehmung von Realität hinterfragen: an der Oberfläche, im goldenen Glanz des Mantels, spannt sich ein Innen und Außen auf. Die Möglichkeit „hinter die Fassade“ des Glanzes zu schauen, wird dabei verwehrt. Dem Archonten gelingt es aber, sich unter dem Schutz des Mantels einer inneren Welt zu öffnen. Aus dieser spricht auch der umgebende Bildraum: eine hyperrealistische Malästhetik, Bildelemente wie durch ein Lupenglas vergrössert, und amorphe Formen, verraten jenen als Traumwelt. Verweist der Künstler damit auf die Existenz paralleler Realitäten? Oder auf deren Abhängigkeit und Beeinflussung von einer inneren, individuellen Wahrnehmung? Bringt er uns damit einem realen Bild von Realität ein Stück näher?

 courtesy of the artist © Jonny Star

22/05/2020 Review No. 7: 

 

Jonny Star

"Hey Baby, I am a full-time painter!" 1-3, 2019

Pigmentdruck auf Stoff, Stoff, Swarovski-Perlen, jeweils 100x140x5cm

Wahrheit oder Wagnis.

Man kennt diesen Moment der Begegnung mit einem Fremden, ein Gespräch, das von Vorsicht und einem ambivalenten Gefühl gegenüber den gesprochenen Worten begleitet ist. Woher kommen diese Worte? Aus dem Selbst, dem Wohlwollen, einem Rollenspiel oder gar der Missgunst? Gibt diese Person vor, jemand zu sein, oder ist ihr Habitus authentisch?
"Hey Baby, ich bin Vollzeit-Malerin" ist der Titel einer dreiteiligen Arbeit des Künstlers und Kurators Jonny Star, die auf einen solchen Moment hinweist: En détail, auf den Habitus eines Künstlers in der öffentlichen Kunstszene. ◌

Durch die Collage verschiedener Materialien überlagert die Künstlerin den Stoff und das ihm innewohnende Blumenmotiv mit fotografischen Fragmenten eines nackten Selbstporträts und verwebt sie buchstäblich mit gestickten Swarovski-Perlen. Ihre Brillanz und ihre fröhlichen Farben sind schmeichelhaft, während der unmittelbare Blick in die Kamera das Auge des Betrachters provoziert. ◌

So wie die Künstlerin einen Körper, nämlich den des Kunstwerks, mit künstlerischen Mitteln stratifiziert hat, bettet Star ihren eigenen Körper in diese Schichten ein und entfaltet sie gleichzeitig als Attribute von Geschlechterrollen. Ein Bild von einer solchen barocken Materialdichte ruft ein schweres und enges Gefühl hervor, wie es heute einige Identitätsstrukturen tun und scheinbar mit der menschlichen Natur kollidieren.

 courtesy of the artist © BIEST!

09/06/2020 Review No.8.:

BIEST "Quadrat",

microfiber, zippers, snaps, chiffon, velcro

Kollektion 2018 + 2020, Installation & Performance

 

Alles im Nichts.

Wo die Geschichte einer Ikone der modernen Kunst einst ihren Anfang nahm, präsentiert sich heute die neue Kollektion von BIEST: bewegt und auf der Bühne. Und in der Ausstellung How beautiful you are! Die gleicht einem Publikumszirkus und feiert ihre letzte Kollektion als Rauminstallation mindestens ebenso genussvoll.

BIEST - das ist das Berliner Designer Duo Mirko & Silvio. Ihr Konzept steht für klare Formen, für „weniger ist mehr“. Mit ihrer Kollektion „Quadrat“ setzen sie in der Modewelt einen Nullpunkt, einen Neubeginn, Innovation.

So wie eben jene Ikone, “Das schwarze Quadrat (auf weißem Grund)“ von Kasimir Malewitsch, alles bereits Gemalte im Schwarz bündelt und gleichzeitig auflöst, entblättern sich von hier aus alle Möglichkeiten und, durch Risse in der Oberfläche (Craquelé́), das Dahinter, das Weiß des Untergrundes. Das schwarze Stoffquadrat, getragen vom Körper und auf der Haut, offenbart jenes „Dahinter“ hier und da, in Schnittmustern und durch Kontur. Die Minimierung der Form schafft Freiheit und Denk-Raum, für Assoziationen, Selbstreflexion und Kreativität! So wird jedes getragene Quadrat zu einer individuellen „Behausung“, einem Wohlfühlort und einem Unikum, das in seiner Gesamtheit zu unendlich vielen Variationen der gleichen Kollektion führt.

More:

BIEST Homepage

Watch the movie

On Instagram

© 2019 von DADA ART Erstellt mit Wix.com