Curator's statement


"We live our lives in a network of "betweenness" (Aidagara 間柄), which is the extension of subjective space or intersubjective field. This is none other than the living space of interconnected meanings and actions that we experience in our everyday activities, where temporality and spatiality are inseparable. (Watsuji Tetsurō)


In her curatorial projects, Daniela von Damaros focuses on an in-between space, as a place where definitions of art theory and anthropology can be questioned. Experiencing new spaces of meaning through changes in perspective and expansion of consciousness allows us to question mentalities. This, one might think, is what art per se does. However, the concepts of the "Dada Art Projects" are based on the space between art and the viewer and its potential for communication. All aspects of the projects - the selection of the artistic works, the arrangement of the space and the design of the supporting program - are guided by the vision of actively involving the recipient, stimulating all the senses and thus expanding the resonance space for the greatest possible effectiveness of the art on display.

Exhibition view "Invisible Spaces II", Dennis Rudolph - MSG 11 (Painting AR/VR, Oil on Canvas) 2019

Daniela von Damaros was born in 1983 in Jena, Germany. She is an art historian, PhD candidate and freelance curator. She lives and works in Berlin.

 

She studied art history at the University in Leipzig and in Vienna, focusing on modern and contemporary art of the 20th and 21st century in Europe, East Germany and China. After several jobs as a curatorial assistant, for exhibitions in Germany and in China, she started her own business a year and a half ago under the name "Dada Art Projects" with a focus on art education. Since then she has been working with various project spaces, curators and artists in Berlin to pursue an innovative approach to exhibition formats in the spirit of her label "Dada" as a reference to the maxim of the eponymous art movement.

Preparing "Invisible Spaces I", Tom Früchtl "Flash" (oil paint/ furniture door) 2019

© 2019 von DADA ART Erstellt mit Wix.com

Erklärung der Kuratorin

"Wir leben unser Leben in einem Netzwerk der "Betweenness" (Aidagara 間柄), das die Erweiterung des subjektiven Raumes oder intersubjektiven Feldes ist. Dies ist nichts anderes als der Lebensraum miteinander verbundener Bedeutungen und Handlungen, die wir in unseren alltäglichen Aktivitäten erfahren, wo Zeitlichkeit und Räumlichkeit untrennbar miteinander verbunden sind." (Watsuji Tetsurō)

In ihren kuratorischen Projekten konzentriert sich Daniela von Damaros auf einen Zwischenraum, als einen Ort, an dem Definitionen von Kunsttheorie und Anthropologie hinterfragt werden können. Das Erleben neuer Bedeutungsräume durch Perspektivwechsel und Bewusstseinserweiterung ermöglicht es, Mentalitäten zu hinterfragen. Das ist es, so könnte man meinen, was Kunst per se bewirkt. Die Konzepte der "Dada Art Projects" basieren jedoch auf dem Raum zwischen der Kunst und dem Betrachter und seinem Kommunikationspotential. Alle Aspekte der Projekte - die Auswahl der künstlerischen Arbeiten, die Anordnung des Raumes und die Gestaltung des Rahmenprogramms - werden von der Vision geleitet, den Rezipienten aktiv einzubeziehen, alle Sinne zu stimulieren und so den Resonanzraum für eine größtmögliche Wirksamkeit der ausgestellten Kunst zu erweitern.

Exhibition view "Invisible Spaces II", Dennis Rudolph - MSG 11 (Painting AR/VR, Oil on Canvas) 2019

Daniela von Damaros ist 1983 in Jena, Deutschland, geboren. Sie ist Kunsthistorikerin, Doktorandin und freiberufliche Kuratorin. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Sie studierte an der Universität in Leipzig und in Wien Kunstgeschichte mit den Schwerpunkten moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts in Europa, Ostdeutschland und China. Nach mehreren Tätigkeiten als kuratorische Assistentin, für Ausstellungen in Deutschland und in China, machte sie sich vor eineinhalb Jahren unter dem Namen "Dada Art Projects" mit dem Fokus auf Kunstvermittlung selbständig. Seitdem arbeitet sie mit verschiedenen Projekträumen, KuratorInnen und KünstlerInnen in Berlin zusammen, um im Sinne ihres Labels "Dada" als Referenz an die Maxime der gleichnamigen Kunstbewegung einen innovativen Ansatz für Ausstellungsformate zu verfolgen.

Preparing "Invisible Spaces I", Tom Früchtl "Flash" (oil paint/ furniture door) 2019

© 2019 von DADA ART Erstellt mit Wix.com