09/06/2020 Review No.8.:

BIEST "Quadrat",

microfiber, zippers, snaps, chiffon, velcro

Collection 2018 + 2020, Installation & Performance

 

Everything in nothingness.

Where the story of an icon of modern art once began, the new collection from BIEST is now presented: moved and on stage. And in the exhibition How beautiful you are! It resembles a circus of the public and celebrates their last collection as a room installation at least as enjoyably.

BIEST - that's the Berlin designer duo Mirko & Silvio. Their concept stands for clear forms, for "less is more". With their collection "Quadrat" they set a zero point in the fashion world, a new beginning, innovation .

Just as the icon, "The Black Square (on white ground)" by Kasimir Malevich, bundles and simultaneously dissolves everything already painted in the black, from here all possibilities unfold and, through cracks in the surface (Craquelé́), the white of the background. The black square of fabric, carried by the body and on the skin, reveals that "behind" here and there, in patterns and through contour. The minimization of the form creates freedom and space for thinking, for associations, self-reflection and creativity! In this way, every square worn becomes an individual "dwelling", a place of well-being and a unique piece, which in its entirety leads to infinite variations of the same collection.

More:

BIEST Homepage

Watch the movie

On Instagram

© 2019 von DADA ART Erstellt mit Wix.com

09/06/2020 Review No.8.:

BIEST "Quadrat",

microfiber, zippers, snaps, chiffon, velcro

Kollektion 2018 + 2020, Installation & Performance

 

Alles im Nichts.

Wo die Geschichte einer Ikone der modernen Kunst einst ihren Anfang nahm, präsentiert sich heute die neue Kollektion von BIEST: bewegt und auf der Bühne. Und in der Ausstellung How beautiful you are! Die gleicht einem Publikumszirkus und feiert ihre letzte Kollektion als Rauminstallation mindestens ebenso genussvoll.

BIEST - das ist das Berliner Designer Duo Mirko & Silvio. Ihr Konzept steht für klare Formen, für „weniger ist mehr“. Mit ihrer Kollektion „Quadrat“ setzen sie in der Modewelt einen Nullpunkt, einen Neubeginn, Innovation.

So wie eben jene Ikone, “Das schwarze Quadrat (auf weißem Grund)“ von Kasimir Malewitsch, alles bereits Gemalte im Schwarz bündelt und gleichzeitig auflöst, entblättern sich von hier aus alle Möglichkeiten und, durch Risse in der Oberfläche (Craquelé́), das Dahinter, das Weiß des Untergrundes. Das schwarze Stoffquadrat, getragen vom Körper und auf der Haut, offenbart jenes „Dahinter“ hier und da, in Schnittmustern und durch Kontur. Die Minimierung der Form schafft Freiheit und Denk-Raum, für Assoziationen, Selbstreflexion und Kreativität! So wird jedes getragene Quadrat zu einer individuellen „Behausung“, einem Wohlfühlort und einem Unikum, das in seiner Gesamtheit zu unendlich vielen Variationen der gleichen Kollektion führt.

More:

BIEST Homepage

Watch the movie

On Instagram

© 2019 von DADA ART Erstellt mit Wix.com